Tanuki Raw @ Orchard Central

Oysters at $2 each.

Sashimi at $3 for 5 slices.

Tanuki Raw Happiest Hour Menu
Tanuki Raw Happiest Hour Menu

Enough said, I was sold! I knew I got to visit this place asap.

You could either pick a seat outside at the balcony or inside the shopping mall. Of course the balcony would give a better ambience, that is if you could stand the heat, the slight smokey smell (Fact: there is a smoking corner there despite how much you wanna blame it on the forest fires) and the constant calling of birds. Well, it could turn to your benefit if you’re up there with a date and you need some sounds to fill the awkward silences…

Vodka Sprite with Blueberry Shrub at the Balcony.
Vodka Sprite with Blueberry Shrub at the Balcony.

Just kidding! The view isn’t fantastic, but it was nice to have a little evening breeze while you watch the little people walk past downstairs. Fresh air is always welcomed considering how much time I spend in a stuffy little cubicle all week long. The drink is a Vodka Sprite with Blueberry Shrub. I have no idea what that means, so that is why I got it. It is a nice girly drink that has a fruity taste to it.

Raw Oysters $2 each
Raw Oysters $2 each

Then of course, the main excitement of the night – oysters! They used to offer it at $1 each during the happiest hour, but they raised it up to $2. Usual price goes at $8 an Oyster. How can anybody stomach a gulp for $8 I cannot understand. But $2 is something I can afford, so I got 6! A caution though, a doctor once told me we should never eat more than 6 at a single time. They are supposed to contain loads of toxins (they eat shit) and can give you food poisoning or stomach flu if taken in excess.

They also have a variety. The ones I ordered are from Australia but there are others. I don’t remember exactly, but they range from $2 to $5 each for happiest hour.

Dinner!
Dinner!

And of course, I also ordered my favorite Salmon Sashimi at $3 for 5 slices. They were pretty good I must say. But you got to eat it quick, because unlike the Oysters, the Sashimi doesn’t have ice or anything to keep it cold. Nothing beats a cool piece of Salmon Sashimi…

So that’s it! Oysters, Sashimi and a drink left me happy and satisfied for the night.

Leave a comment